Killer Kielbasa and Potatoes

The four-ingredient meal:

I stole this one from my mom. I don’t think she cooks anything else that contains fewer than, like, twenty ingredients. Check out our pho recipe if you don’t believe me.

Once a month, I treat our family to a “meat” item at PCC from the hot dog/cocktail wienie/kielbasa section. You know, meats I wouldn’t normally buy but that my people sneak around and eat behind my back. Like at Costco. So I figure that if the people want it, they can have it, as long as I can feed it to them without getting the willies when I think about what goes into it.

This isn’t so much a recipe as it is a quick saute. Here’s how it goes:

1. Cut 2 medium Russet potatoes that you’ve washed and peeled into matchsticks and pat dry. Cut a kielbasa into matchsticks to match. Cut a quarter of a sweet onion into long, thin slivers.

2. In a large skillet with a bit of olive oil going over medium-high heat, cook up the potatoes. Stir often.

3. After several minutes, add the sweet onion. Stir everything around a lot. After several more minutes, the onions should be opaque.

4. Add the kielbasa. Cook until the meat is heated through.

5. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle a handful of sesame seeds you’ve toasted over medium heat in a small pan into the kielbasa/potato mixture.

We love this for dinner but it makes a great breakfast if you happen to have leftovers. We never have that problem with this meal.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

