Roasted Tomatoes

Someone in Seattle got enough sunshine over the summer to grow tomatoes.

My newly-back-to-work mom has quickly made some friends, and one of those friends had a prolific tomato-growing season.

I decided to roast them and make sauce to freeze, so that later this year we can enjoy that taste of the summer that mostly eluded us.

Slice up a bunch of tomatoes and pat off some of the juice. Throw in a few whole cloves of garlic, peels still on. Drizzle with olive oil–I promise that the olive oil in the above photo actually made its way onto the tomatoes–then sprinkle with salt and pepper. If you want, you can add a bit of sugar or balsamic vinegar.

Bake at 450 degrees Fahrenheit until everything looks well cooked.

These are roasted tomatoes, Instagram style.

Do you know about Instagram? It makes me look like the photographer I so am not. And it’s FREE.

I decided to throw our roasted tomatoes into the food processor for a minute, along with the garlic that just slides out of the peels at this point. You can season your sauce with Italian seasonings or fresh basil and parsley, if you’d like.

It makes great pizza sauce. I also served it over roasted spaghetti squash and garnished it with Parmesan cheese and fresh basil. It looks like spaghetti but the spaghetti squash is crunchy and the roasted tomato sauce isn’t as heavy as marinara.

But enough about what I think. I’ve devoted an entire blog to what I think. I put the dish on the table and let the judging commence.

And here are the results:

Nacho Man: big thumbs up. Practically ate seconds out of the serving dish.

Lupe: thumb at three o’clock

Rue: “Can I have bread and butter?”

You know what? It’s becoming part of the repertoire while we still have the tomatoes. I’d like to see ’em beg for fresh roasted tomato sauce when I pop open a jar of Ragu come February.

Baked Spaghetti Squash

Directions:

1. Wash and poke the skin of a 2-3 pound spaghetti squash. Place into a glass baking dish  and bake at 375 degrees for about an hour, or until you can insert a knife without too much resistance.

2. Carefully remove the spaghetti squash from the baking dish and set it on a cutting board. When it’s cool enough to handle, slice it open horizontally and scoop out the seeds and stringy insides.

3. Gently scrape the pulp with a fork.

Roasted Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

enough whole tomatoes to fill a baking sheet, washed, sliced, and patted dry

olive oil

3 cloves of garlic, peels on

1 teaspoon salt

black pepper to taste

1 teaspoon sugar (optional)

balsamic vinegar (optional)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Arrange the tomato slices and garlic cloves on a baking sheet.

2. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and sugar (if desired).

3. Bake until tomatoes are cooked to your preferred doneness, and garlic cloves are very tender.

4. Put roasted tomatoes and garlic cloves (peels removed) in a food processor.

5. Season with herbs as desired.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Roasted Tomatoes

  1. Vero

    Please tell us how she got them to grow! I think I had a total of 8 of my own…

  2. Sundee

    Tried this tonight. Got about the same responses as from your family. Husband — definite thumbs up. Older daughter finished it with the bribe of candy at the end. Younger daughter ate PB&J. I thought it was delish! Thanks for giving me the confidence to try my own tomato sauce for the first time. You made it totally unintimidating!

Leave a Reply

