Now what?

I did the unthinkable.

I voluntarily left a good-paying part-time job in the middle of a recession, or a double-dip recession, depending on who you talk to.

Did I mention that I loved that job?

Nacho Man didn’t get a raise, I didn’t win the lottery (after all, you have to play to win), and we didn’t suddenly come into an inheritance.

I don’t think I need to have my head examined. The fault lies with my heart.

My heart’s gotten sentimental about the fact that my children are suddenly eleven and five years old, which doesn’t seem right or possible. It’s gotten possessive and wants to experience all of the ups and downs of the days and years to come. It also wants me to have the presence of mind and sole focus I’ve claimed is so important but haven’t truly practiced. That means no more thinking about story times while Lupe and Rue are trying to talk to me; no more surreptitious e-mail checks from home.

No more of that.

But I’m still going to need something for myself. I’ve been mulling over some possibilities:

1. More couch time. It sure looks comfortable. The kids throw the cushions at each other on a regular basis and they bounce right off, so I’m guessing it’s pretty soft. It might be the perfect place to curl up with a book…oh, wait. I didn’t have time to do that when I was a librarian and people thought I got paid to read.

2. Domicile perfection. Oh please. You can’t improve on perfection.

3. Sleek physique. Ruled out for the same reason cited in Number 2.

4. Uber blogger. Now that’s something I could get behind. Blogging is fun. I love giving a regular dose of wit and you tens of you love receiving it.

5. More enrichment with the girls. Considering how the whole “Mommy School” thing is going, I should probably put more energy into this one.

6. More cooking and baking. Um, yes please!

7. Sewing. There’s good reason to get to work on this, but we’ll chat more about that in upcoming posts.

So basically, I’m interested in relaxing, running an efficient household, running, writing, spending quality time with my family, eating well, and crafting.

So now you can see why I couldn’t be bothered with a paying job.

But from the looks of things, neither could Ms. Bitty. As my story time mascot, she has given out thousands of high fives over the years. Apparently, it’s enough already.

I’d like to borrow that when you’re done, Ms. Bitty.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Now what?

  1. Sundee

    Proud to be one of the tens! Want to go running Friday 🙂

  2. Vero

    Sigh…I did that once, too, Micheline. No raise, sudden inheritance or lottery wins, either. Just a lot of belt-tightening or “pinching our cheeks together” as my husband fondly likes to say – “tightly!” I know you’ll never regret it. That time together with my youngest was priceless. I missed it, too, with my oldest.

Leave a Reply

