Girls Gone Wild at the Flea Market: Second Saturdayz

Technically, this isn’t a family field trip. It’s a day out with girlfriends. But girlfriends are elected relatives, which means you vote them in and can vote them out. But I would never do that.

This girls’ day out was inspired by the whole country chic/shabby chic/upcycling movement. Second Saturdayz is a monthly flea market, usually at Magnuson Park in Seattle. If you like poking around, finding inspiration, indulging in wishful thinking (No, my family won’t have to eat beans for a month if I spend that much for a pair of stunning solid wood finials), and cursing yourself for not coming up with a clever, crafty idea first, then this event is for you!

We arrived right before 8 in the morning and got goody bags for being some of the first guests. That immediately put me in a good mood, because honestly, punctuality shouldn’t always have to be its own reward. Entry fee paid, we wandered around, taking in the textiles, furniture, jewelry, milk glass, doodads, whatnots, and other beautiful and interesting objects. Overwhelmed, I’d look around and try to take in everything, only to have a friend come up to me and say, “Did you see this?” and of course I hadn’t.

Why, yes, yes I am.

There were lots of stories in that old hangar. I would have loved to learn all of them. Here are  a couple of the objects that spoke to me:

An old, industrial bookend so beautiful that I actually want to show it off. This is by my friend Marsha’s sister, Jana, who makes me laugh and spend money on her gorgeous designs, but I’m laughing so hard I don’t notice. I would never want my home to look like it came straight out of a catalog, but Home by Jana? That I could do.

And then there’s this:

Your eyes don’t deceive you. This is barbed wire. Rusty barbed wire. Right now you’re probably thinking that I really should decorate my home straight out of a catalog. No detours. No exceptions. No substitutions. Because this is what I buy if left to my own devices. You’d be surprised how much it stands out amidst a bunch of curiosities. It’s the curiosist of them all. It looks so unwelcoming on top of a towed vehicle lot, but when it comes from a ranch in the Methow Valley, where we’ve had such good times, it’s warm and rustic and full of charm.

Something came over me. I had to have a piece of Methow at home. And really, if this doesn’t scream, “One woman’s junk is another woman’s treasure,” then I don’t know what does.

Until now, Nacho Man had no idea this is hidden in a closet where the kids can’t scratch themselves and develop a nasty infection.

Don’t worry, honey. I have an idea.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Girls Gone Wild at the Flea Market: Second Saturdayz

  1. Mimi

    Hope your family has their up to date tetanus shots!

  2. Pingback: Function is from Mars, Form is from Venus | The Adventures of Pho Girl and Nacho Man

Leave a Reply

