Teacher Appreciation Week

May 2-6 is Teacher Appreciation Week, and May 3rd is National Teacher Day, and I’m feeling the need to do something for my daughter’s amazing teachers. There’s nothing quite like public school teachers. They are not only teachers, but advocates, coaches, cheerleaders, listeners, and about a million other things that I’m probably forgetting and that they aren’t compensated for.

So if anyone out there has a great suggestion for letting our teachers know how much we appreciate all their hard work, please post a reply!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Teacher Appreciation Week

  1. I think this is a lovely tradition that you have in the US. We don’t really have anything like it in the UK. As a teacher I would prefer something homemade/ handwritten by the child, takes more care and effort than just picking something up in a shop.

    My favourite gift from a child was a poem written out by the child. I was given this six years ago when I left one teaching post to join another school. It was so special as the child had remembered us studying the poem earlier in the year and remembered me saying how much I liked it, they also found writing neatly really difficult so I know that to present it so neatly with little pictures must have taken them a huge amount of effort. I still have in my memories box.

Leave a Reply

